Award Hall of Fame

2016 Award Recipient


laura_EctonLaura (Hoeven) Ecton was raised in Fort Collins, and as a Poudre High School Graduate, she is a shining product of the Poudre School District. Laura’s mother Evelyn ignited a passion for tennis in Laura at an early age. Laura played tennis through high school, and continued her tennis career at Colorado College where she discovered another passion, mathematics. Following Laura’s graduation from Colorado College, she went on to earn a graduate degree from the University of Colorado.

Laura returned to Fort Collins, where she served as a tennis pro at the Fort Collins Country Club and began her coaching career alongside her mother Evelyn at Poudre High School. Laura’s coaching tenure has extended over 25 years, where she has become a fixture in the Northern Colorado tennis community. Over her career, she has had
many individual and team successes. Most notably Laura gained recognition for creating a ‘no-cut’ program at Poudre High School, where her teams range between 50-70 players each season. Laura was awarded for her efforts, being selected to the No-Cut Coach All-Star Team in 2013 by the United State Tennis Association (USTA). Laura and her husband Kraig have four daughters, Kwynn, Kayla, Koy and Ky, who have all inherited the joy of tennis from their mother and grandmother.

Past Winners



Randy Yaussi


Ken Taylor

Ken Taylor


Craig Luckasen


Earlie Thomas and Tom Davis


Lyle Moddlemog


Hal Kinard & Rich Yonker



Sonny Lubick